If you were like me, you grew up know that there are 5 senses and the “sixth” sense is basically the stuff propagated by Miss Cleo and her ilk.

However, in Buddhism, thoughts or thought objects are defined as the sixth sense.  In addition, the senses have internal organs and their external objects.   This will all make sense with this list …

  1. Eye and Vision
  2. Ear and Hearing
  3. Nose and Smell
  4. Tongue and Taste
  5. Skin and Touch
  6. Mind and Thought

Okay the sixth sense is pretty easy … the mind links up with thought objects.  However, unlike the other organs the mind also has the non-sensory capability of meditation which is quite different than thought